british citizenship & nationality

British Citizenship and Nationality


The British Nationality Law is very complex and each case is required to be assessed on its circumstances on an individual basis.

There are six different types of British nationality. These are:

  • British citizenship
  • British overseas territories citizen
  • British overseas citizen
  • British subject
  • British national (overseas)
  • British protected person 

 There are also two types of British citizenship:

  • Those who are British citizens by descent
  • British citizens otherwise than by descent

Naturalisation is the most common way for adults who were not born British to become British citizens. Applicants must fulfil the residency requirements, and hold Indefinite Leave to Remain / Permanent Residence. They must also (unless over the age of 65) demonstrate sufficient knowledge of the English Language, and Life in the UK, be of good character, and have the intention to make the UK their home.
British Nationality can also be acquired by way of registration.

Quick Contact